M.A.D.

Winter break is one of my favorite times of the year.  I love the opportunity to see family and reconnect with my wife and children.  I also enjoy the opportunity for recharging and reflection to ensure a successful second half of the year.  

Recently I came across news reports discussing nuclear development.  As a former history teacher and current history/political science geek this caused me to think about the idea of M.A.D. or Mutually Assured Destruction.  The stubborn behaviors of nations made me reflect upon the stubborn behaviors I once used when working with children.

As a young school administrator I was provided with an outstanding education.  I learned about culture, school law and steps I could take to foster greater student learning.  This outstanding education did not prepare me for the first student that did not accept my “wonderful advice”.  

“If you are not going to try then I am not going to try.”  I remember saying this to a student in the beginning of my time as a leader and still hear it from adults in schools.  This cannot be our attitudes when working kids.  Our hearts need to be bigger than this.  Our conviction needs to be firmer than this. Now when working with students I let them know, “You may not want to try but I am not going to quit.”  Let’s be more for our kids.

Leave a Reply

